General Meeting Baldoon Golf Club,Wallaceburg April 20, 2016

Present- President- Gloria Cayea

Past President-Earnie MacDougall Membership Chairperson-Bill Mason Secretary and Branch report- Beryl Rome Caller Chairperson- Pat Mason Treasurer- Diana Wright 2nd vice-president- Murray Lester IT Specialist---Doug Kerr Health and Benefits Officer- Diane Kerr Program Director- Mary Anne Burgess Members-at-large- Bob Jackson, Georgina MacIsaac

The president welcomed everyone to the Annual General Meeting.

Mary Ann said grace after we had a moment of silence for those members who have passed on. We then enjoyed the excellent buffet lunch that Baldoon provided.

Then the president introduced Bruce Challis, our Regional Service Officer, who had worked as an auditor for Canada Revenue before retiring. He said that there were 2 members running for the office of president of NAFR, Conrad von Finkelstein and Jean-Guy Souliere. Linda MacDonald is to take over Graham Weber's position. The new CEO should be at the National Annual General Meeting this year.

The finances of NAFR for 2015 have been audited and approved. They want to have more diversity on the National Board.

They want SAGE to pay for itself through ads.

Mr. Challis said that the strategic plan for NAFR is to concern itself with income security and health care. Veteran care and improving CPP and senior indexing are two of the goals. NAFR wants to grow the membership in order to have more impact in discussions with government bodies. NAFR also wants to improve internal communications and volunteer training. They want to have a liaison person who will be able to direct you to the right person to contact about various matters.

Earnie thanked the speaker and presented his wife with a bouquet of flowers.

The president said that the CRM is finally up and running. Doug Kerr, our IT expert worked for about a year and now we have our own website. It is best to contact <u>www.federalretirees.ca</u> and locate our website from their directory. Any information you want posted on the website should be sent to Doug.

Our by-laws were approved by headquarters. Thanks to Bob Jackson for all the work he put into this project.

Diana Wright is no longer the treasurer. She will be a member-at-large. Beryl Rome is retiring as secretary.

The treasurer thanked Larry Stevens and Bob Jackson for helping with the audit of the books for 2015. Norm Giffen proposed that we accept the audit and the proposed budget. Bob Sennett seconded the motion and it was carried unanimously.

Diana also proposed that we allocate \$1500 for the maintenance and eventual replacement of computer equipment used for the business of the branch. Further, that the Branch Board be authorized to use these designated funds as required without further member authorization. The motion was seconded by Barb Fleet and the motion was carried unanimously. The Program Director, Mary Ann Burgess, said that there will be a trip to Port Dover. The cost will be \$99 and this covers the bus, lunch and the theatre. The cheques must be in by June 20. The Grand Bend meeting will be held at Hessenland on October and she must know by July 19 how many are planning on attending. She would like anyone who has an idea for entertainment for the Christmas meeting to contact her.

Georgina MacIsaac and Earnie MacDougall are on the Volunteer committee. They report that the certificates have not arrived from Ottawa, but will be handed out to the following when they become available:

Larry Stevens for helping with the audit and conducting the 50-50 draw Flo Kettle for her long time service and liaising with the Navy Club about meetings Gord and Jean Webb who were in charge of the Callers for many years and also for arranging for the Wallaceburg meetings.

Earnie stressed the need for volunteers to make the organization work.

The past president was in charge of the election of the new board. He said that the president is elected for 3 years and the vice-president, Treasurer and Membership Chairman are elected for 2 years.

Gloria accepted the nomination as president. Earnie asked 3 times if there were other nominations. When there were no further nominations Gloria was acclaimed as president. Diane Kerr accepted the nomination as treasurer. Earnie asked 3 times if there were any further nominations. Diane was acclaimed when there were no other nominations. Bill Mason accepted the nomination for membership chairman. Earnie asked three times if there were any other nominations. When there were no other nominations Bill was acclaimed as membership chairman

Bob Jackson accepted the nomination for vice-president. Earnie asked three times if there were any other nominations. When there were no other nominations Bob was acclaimed as vice-president.

Bruce Challis swore in the new executive.

The following were appointed to their positions. Program Director - Mary Ann Burgess Caller Co-ordinator-Pat Mason IT Co-ordinator-Doug Kerr Health Benefits Officer-Earnie MacDougall Members-at-large Diana Wright, Murray Lester, Georgina MacIsaac

The 50-50 draw was \$84.

The next meeting is in Goderich at the Legion on September 14

Meeting adjourned