Annual General Meeting Minutes The Clubhouse at Baldoon, Wallaceburg April 18, 2018

Branch Web site http://www.federalretirees.ca/en/Branches/Ontario/Bluewater

Present -

President - Gloria Cayea Treasurer - Diane Kerr Director of Membership - Bill Mason Outreach Coordinator - Pat Mason Program Coordinator - Mary Ann Burgess Health Benefits Officer - Earnie MacDougall IT and Web Site Coordinator - Doug Kerr Secretary - VP - Bob Jackson Member at Large - Diana Wright Member at Large - Georgina MacIssac Member at Large - Murray Lester

President Gloria Cayea opened the meeting at 12:05.

Mary Ann Burgess led a moment of silence followed by grace. Members then enjoyed the buffet lunch provided by The Clubhouse at Baldoon.

Following lunch the meeting resumed with the reading of the 2017 AGM minutes. Bob Stennett introduced a motion to approve the minutes as read and Murray Lester seconded. Motion carried.

Mary Ann Burgess introduced a motion to accept the 2018 AGM agenda as tabled. The motion was seconded by Doug Kerr and carried.

Gloria Cayea presented the President's Report. Gloria summarized the activities organized by the Branch over the past year. These included the special Canada 150 meeting in Goderich; the October meeting in Port Franks; the Christmas meeting which included entertainment by Sarnia's latest music sensation, The Casuals; the February meeting at

the Navy Club; and the two fun day events, Branch Golfing Day and Branch Bowling Day. Gloria noted the Branch is always working towards providing members with a variety of meetings, guest speakers and fun events.

Gloria also reminded members the Branch depends on volunteers to function.

Diane Kerr, Treasurer, summarized the 2018 Budget for the membership. The 2018 Budget was approved as presented on a motion by Steve Hamilton, seconded by Dave Cayea and carried by the membership.

Diane presented the Reviewed/Audited Statements for the year 2017 showing an earning of \$296.38. The Statements were approved by the membership on a motion by Diana Wright, seconded by Murray Lester.

Diane then read a proposed motion concerning the allocation of reserves, namely, "That we allocate \$2000, the same amount as 2017, for the maintenance and eventual replacement of computer equipment (purchased in 2013) used for the business of the Branch. Further that the Branch Board be authorized to use this designate fund as required without further member authorization." This proposal was approved on a motion by Freda Arnott, seconded by Bob Stennett and carried by the membership.

Bill Mason, Director of Membership, gave an overview of the membership number and trends. Overall Bluewater Branch is losing members, the numbers have dropped some 12.5%, from a high of 612 members a few years ago to the current figure of 537. Bill and the President will be attending a seminar/Regional Meeting on the topic of member recruitment and retention at the end of May so the topic is well known across NAFR and is not just a Bluewater issue. Bill also asked the membership to let him know if they are aware of up coming Public Service retirements, and asked the membership's help in distributing NAFR information and pamphlets to likely locations such as local Legions. Bill reminded the membership that member cards do not expire and should be accepted by all Preferred Partners without question.

Pat Mason, Outreach Coordinator, thanked Branch callers for their work over the past year.

Mary Ann Burgess, Program Director, reminded members of the proposed June 26 bus trip to St Jacobs Farmer's Market. Members are encouraged to invite non-members to this event, the cost is \$81 per person, payable by cheque made out to "NAFR Bluewater Branch". Mary Ann will need to know by June 1 who intends to take advantage of this day trip. Mary Ann also outlined the September and October meeting venues (Harbour Hill, Goderich and Hessenland respectively). Both events will be special, with entertainment planned for the Goderich meeting, and especially fine food at the Hessenland meeting.

Doug Kerr, IT and Web Site Coordinator, reminded members of the usefulness of the web site for researching national and Branch information. For example, the site contains information on NAFR's Affinity Partners and explains what they offer. Doug also informed the members that SunLife now accepts e-claims under some circumstances, and this can speed up the reimbursement process considerably. For example, Doug received electronic payment on the same day that he submitted an e-claim. Of course, not all claims can be submitted via e-claim, however members are encouraged to explore this route and use it when able.

Georgina MacIssac and Earnie MacDougall, Volunteer Recognition Committee, presented the Bluewater Branch Volunteer of the Year award to this year's winner, Diana Wright. Besides Diana's significant and on-going contribution to the Bluewater Branch she is also a driving force behind her community's (Watford) art scene. Diana reminded members that volunteers get to have a say in their community every day and she encouraged everyone to turn off the TV/computer/ wireless connectivity and get involved directly with people, be they friends or strangers, through volunteer work and socializing.

Georgina reminded the meeting that nominations for next year's Volunteer of the Year are being accepted and can be submitted anytime between now and the end of the year.

Earnie MacDougall chaired the Branch elections. Earnie reminded attendees the Branch relies on volunteers to make it function. Significantly, next year the Branch will need a new person to step forward and fill the President's position.

This year the Vice-President, Treasurer, and Director of Membership positions are up for election. The Treasurer and Director of Membership indicated they would stand for re-election. The floor was then opened for nominations to fill the positions.

Georgina MacIssac nominated Earnie MacDougall for the position of Vice-President. The nomination was seconded by Bob Stennett and Earnie accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations Earnie MacDougall moved that nominations cease, seconded by Bob Stennett and approved by the floor.

Elected by acclamation were:

- Earnie MacDougall Vice President
- Diane Kerr Treasurer
- Bill Mason Director of Membership

The non-elected portion of the Board all accepted new two year terms. Note the position of Health Benefits Officer no longer exists.

Gloria Cayea, President, swore-in the Branch's elected officials and Board and was the first to offer her congratulations.

Gloria then thanked all members for helping keep the Branch vibrant. This said, it is undeniable that Branch membership and participation is declining. As a result the President and the Board will be spending time over the next year determining options for its continuance or dissolution.

The meeting adjourned on a motion at 2 pm.

Prepared by

Secretary. - Robert Jackson

Certified by

President - Gloria Cayea
