Annual General Meeting Minutes Royal Canadian Legion, Wallaceburg, ON April 17, 2019

Branch web site http://www.federalretirees.ca/en/Branches/Ontario/Bluewater

Present -

President - Gloria Cayea Vice President - Earnie MacDougall Treasurer - Diane Kerr Director of Membership - Bill Mason Recruitment and Engagement Director - Chris Hawksworth Outreach Coordinator - Pat Mason Secretary - Robert Jackson Member at Large. - Diana Wright Member at Large - Murray Lester

Absent -

IT and Web Site Coordinator - Doug Kerr Member at Large - Georgina MacIssac

President Gloria Cayea opened the meeting at 12:07 and led a moment of silence.

Dorothy Newman said grace.

Following lunch the meeting resumed with the guest speaker, Diana Wright. Diana summarized the importance of volunteering, defining it as the sharing of our skills and abilities with our local community. Diana spoke to the importance of supporting community thrift shops run by local charities as these in turn give back to the community. The importance of reusing and repurposing materials was also covered, in particular using natural fibres and materials to create new clothing and/or artwork. Sadly, the fashion industry's use of plastic fibres and other throw-away materials can limit their re-purposing, which is another reason to patronize thrift shops for more enduring and useful natural materials. Diana also mentioned that on average each person throws away 500 pounds of food per year. She encourages us all to be more prudent about food waste and to re-use the materials in our lives when possible.

Following the guest speaker, the business portion of the meeting opened with the reading of the 2018 AGM minutes. Bill Mason introduced a motion to approve the minutes as read, and Murray Lester seconded. Motion carried.

Bob Jackson introduced a motion to accept the 2019 AGM agenda as tabled. The motion was seconded by Chris Hawksworth and carried.

Gloria Cayea gave the President's Report. Gloria summarized her experience as President, starting with initial doubts about her perceived lack of experience through to her enjoyment of the position; being involved in interesting NAFR affairs; making new friends and receiving sage advice along the way. Gloria concluded by thanking her husband Dave, her Branch Board, Larry and Mary Stevens, Gord and Jean Webb among the many others for their help in making her term as president enjoyable and fun.

Diane Kerr, Treasurer, presented the reviewed Financial Statements for the year 2018 showing a loss of \$578.60. The loss was largely attributable to meal costs incurred by no-shows and the subsidy of the annual Christmas meal. The 2018 statements were reviewed and audited as required under the by-laws. The Financial Statements were approved on a motion by Dave Cayea, seconded by Steve Hamilton and carried by the membership.

Diane summarized the 2019 Budget for the membership. The 2019 Budget was approved as presented on a motion by Bob

Jackson, seconded by Dave Cayea, and carried by the membership.

Diane also explained the on-going allocation of reserves, namely, "That we allocate \$2000, the same amount as 2018, for the maintenance and eventual replacement of computer equipment (purchased in 2013) used for the business of the Branch. Further that the Branch Board be authorized to use this designate fund as required without further member authorization."

Bob Jackson tabled three Branch By-Law amendments for approval by the membership. The Amendments were to replace the second sentence of section 8.1.1. currently reading "The date shall be no later than April 15'th" with the new text "The date shall be no later than the third Wednesday in April". The remaining two amendments concerned the elimination of the Health Benefits Officer position and a minor adjustment to the duties of the Secretary. The three amendments were approved on a motion by Steve Hamilton, seconded by Chris Hawksworth, and carried by the membership.

Bill Mason, Director of Membership, gave an overview of the membership numbers. The Branch is down one member from this time last year. Branch members who don't have their dues deducted at source have all paid their dues and are in good standing for 2019. Bill invited all members to let him know of any upcoming Public Service retirements, and asked the membership's help in distributing NAFR information and pamphlets.

Pat Mason, Outreach Coordinator, thanked the callers and emailer Diana Wright for their work over the past year.

Chris Hawksworth, Recruitment and Engagement Director, along with Earnie MacDougall presented the Bluewater Branch Volunteer of the Year award to this year's winner, Bonnie Jackson. Among other activities, Bonnie is an active volunteer with NAFR's Bluewater Branch, the Royal Canadian Legion, Bluewater Health, and Canadian Blood Donor Services. **Earnie MacDougall** chaired the election of the Branch President. The floor was opened for nominations and Chris Hawksworth was nominated Murray Lester, seconded by Bob Jackson.

There being no further nominations, Chris Hawksworth was declared President by acclamation.

Chris Hawksworth thanked the membership for this opportunity to serve as their President and gave a brief summary of upcoming meetings with the Ontario presidents and the annual national meeting. He concluded by thanking Gloria for her exceptional service during her term as President, and on behalf of the Branch presented Gloria with a token of our esteem and thanks. Much to Gloria's appreciation, she was presented with a Bob Stennet birdhouse.

The meeting adjourned at 2:15pm on a motion by Murray Lester, seconded by Larry Stevens.

Prepared by

Secretary - Robert Jackson

Certified by

President - Chris Hawksworth